

## About



Abrasive Trees, the creative vehicle for Matthew Rochford's solo work has been variously described as 'stunning' (BBC Introducing), 'atmospheric' (Post-Punk.com) and 'perfectly evocative' (Aural Aggravation). His musical creations display a willingness to experiment alongside a sound that sits loosely within the post-punk aesthetic with definite influences from post-rock, folk and psychedelia. More accurately though they are the expressions of an inner world that is at times intense, but ultimately hopeful. Rochford's lyrics and music connect with themes of the spiritual, the fragility of our psyche, and attempts to convey what is ultimately inexpressible.

The project has received creative input from Jo-Beth Young (Talitha Rise/RISE), Mark Beazley (Rothko), Steven Hill (Evi Vine), Ben Roberts (Evi Vine/Prosthetic Head/Silver Moth), Jay Newton (Quiet Quiet Band), Peter Yates (Fields of The Nephilim), Ffion Atkinson (Johnny Powell & The Seasonal Beasts), Laurence Collyer (Diamond Family Archive), Jerome Hitchens (Kuki and The Bard), Nadia Abdelaziz (RISE) and Sebastian Rochford (Pulled By Magnets/Polar Bear/Patti Smith). Videos to accompany each release have been created by the visual artist Jess Wooller.



Matthew has himself played on a variety of releases including those by Jo Beth Young (RISE/Talitha Rise), and Rothko. He's recently worked with Elisabeth Elektra, Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwai), Ash Babb (Academy of Sun) and Evi Vine recording an album in the outer Hebrides.

Originally from Aberdeen but of Asian/English heritage, he mainly works from his home studio near Totnes in South Devon where he also runs his micro-label SHAPTA.

## Releases

Now You Are Not Here (July 2022)

**Spotify** 

Bandcamp

<u>Video</u>

Without Light (March 2021)

**Spotify** 

**Bandcamp** 

<u>Video</u>

**Bound For An Infinite Sea** (Sebastian Swarm Remixes) (November 2020)

**Spotify** 

**Bandcamp** 

<u>Video</u>

**Bound For An Infinite Sea** (Sept 2020)

**Spotify** 

**Bandcamp** 

<u>Video</u>











## Press

"a colossal slab of melancholic melodies, harmonies, arpeggiated chord progressions, and other post-punk/psych-rock delicacies"

Words Thoughts Action

"a stunning, grungy, moody debut"

**BBC** Introducing South West

"a sonic narrative, with intricate layers of wandering bass and spectral guitar melodies that give way to gliding flourishes, bringing forth an atmospheric song whose echoing vocals haunt every moment"

Post-Punk.com

"emerging from a thick atmospheric mist, 'Bound for an Infinite Sea' has gothic overtones, with picked guitars echoing out over a deep, rumbling bass. With hints of early Cure, Skeletal Family and Salvation, it broods through shadowy shapes in a fashion that's perfectly evocative of the early 80s post-punk sound, but it's also spun with an ethereality that owes as much to the 4AD roster and 90s shoegaze"

**Aural Aggravation** 

"it's gorgeous, it's sweet, it's melodic, it's moody, it's beautiful, it's all things. Music straight from the heart"

Artgalore

"excellent British experimental post-punk"

FV Music Blog

"a great and moody track"

Darkness Calling



"eclipses the sun with a thick mist of rumbling notes, echoing guitars and spectral vocals.

Through this thick musical soundscape, glimmers of positive energy flit past you before you are again covered by the unrelenting ambient soundscape"

The Other Side Reviews

"evocative flowing tunes tease out emotions and aspirations and keep you reaching for the 'repeat' button"

ArtsCulture Mag

"love his music"

Independent Music News

## Live Band



Jay Newton - keys, guitar, vocals; Jerome Hitchens - drums, percussion, vocals; Jess Wooller - visuals; Ben Roberts - cello, bass, keys, vocals; Matthew Rochford - guitar, dulcimer, vocals.